Dept of Marathi


Marathi department was established in the year 1961 and P.G. department was established in the year 1972. For the welfare of Marathi Department all the Heads have taken great effort

Names of the Head of the Department

1) Professor: Narendra Chapalgaonkar

2) Professor: Dr. Chandrakant Daulgaonkar

3) Professor: Dr. Prabhakar Galegaonkar

4) Professor: Vasant M. Jadhav


Name  Qualification  Designation  Specialization  Experience
S. N. Jawalgekar  M.A., Ph.D., SET.  Associate Prof.  Drama


S. P. Sangole  M.A., Ph.D., NET.  Asst. Prof.  Linguistic


S. M. Kadam  M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., SET,  Asst. Prof.  Grammar


G. R. Lahane M.A., M.Phil., NET.  Asst. Prof.  Novel


Achievements Faculty  

Dr. Shivaji Jawalgekar, H.O.D

Research Guide and Associate Professor

  1. Dr. Shivaji Jawalgekar is awarded Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Fellowship in the year 1995
  2. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Lakhen Puraskar Purna 1997
  3. Vadant Puraskar. Parbhani 2000
  4. Sathyaratna Annabhau Award Latur, 1992
  5. President- Sahityabhushan Annabhau Sathe Kala Academy and Research Centre

Student achievement

  1. Since 1982 till today students have been securing first rank in University Merit List.
  2. 42 students have qualified SET examination.
  3. 10 students have qualified NET examination.
  4. Four students have registered for research

Different activities of Department         

  1. National conference on ‘New Trends in Marathi literature’
  2. Hand writing competition
  3. Guidance for NET/SET students.
  4. Collection of old C.D. and cassette

Future planes   

  1. To apply for M.Phil programme.
  2. To apply to UGC for COC.
  3. To depute students for various Literary treets.